Advertisement

Space and Physics

Watch Live As NASA Makes A Major Exoplanet Announcement Today

author

Jonathan O'Callaghan

Senior Staff Writer

clockFeb 22 2017, 12:44 UTC

sdecoret/Shutterstock

Get ready for some exciting news today, as NASA will reveal a new discovery about worlds beyond our Solar System. It’s not aliens, but it’s seriously interesting, we promise.

Advertisement

The action kicks off today at 1pm EST (6pm GMT), when NASA will host a news conference to announce the findings, which will be published in Nature at the same time. The paper’s lead author, Michael Gillon, and a host of other experts will take part.

Following the talk, there will be an Ask Me Anything (AMA) Q&A on Reddit at 3pm EST (8pm GMT) with the paper’s authors, where you can ask questions about the discovery.

You can watch the conference live on NASA TV, which we’ve also embedded below.

The first world beyond our Solar System was not discovered until the 1990s, but since then we’ve found thousands of exoplanets. These have ranged from gas giants in tight orbits to Earth-like worlds. Much attention has been focused on trying to find the latter, particularly in a star’s habitable zone where liquid water – and maybe life – can exist.

Advertisement

Indeed, finding out if we are alone in the universe is one of the greatest questions of our time. Odds are that we’re not, based on the trillions of planets in our galaxy alone, but we’ve got no evidence to back that up just yet.

So tune in today for an exciting development in our hunt for worlds beyond the Solar System. Again, it’s not the discovery of alien life, but it could be an important step in that direction.


Space and Physics
  • nasa,

  • alien life,

  • exoplanet,

  • discovery,

  • TV,

  • live stream