NASA To Announce A Huge Discovery Outside The Solar System This Wednesday

NASA

On Wednesday, February 22 at 1pm EST (6pm GMT), NASA is going to hold a news conference to announce a major finding relating to planets outside the Solar System.

In the few details released to the public, the agency said they would “present new findings on planets that orbit stars other than our Sun, known as exoplanets.” A paper detailing the findings will be published in the journal Nature on Wednesday. 

The event will be taking place in Washington DC for media only, but you'll be able to watch live on NASA TV, which we've embedded for you below.

Several experts will take part in the conference, including the paper's lead author, Michaël Gillon from the University of Liège in Belgium, and Dr Sara Seager, a renowned planetary scientist from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

After the conference at 3pm EST (8pm GMT), there will be an Ask Me Anything (AMA) Q&A session on Reddit with some of the scientists involved in the discovery.

What's it all about? Well, you'll have to wait and see. Tune in on Wednesday to find out.

Comments

If you liked this story, you'll love these

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By continuing to use our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.