Space

SpaceX Will Attempt Its Latest Rocket Launch Today - Here's How To Watch It Live

March 4, 2016 | by Jonathan O'Callaghan

Photo credit: SpaceX hasn't yet performed a successful barge landing. SpaceX

Here we go again: SpaceX will attempt to launch the SES-9 mission on a Falcon 9 rocket today for the fifth time, together with a daring attempt at a landing.

The mission is scheduled to launch this evening, with the launch window opening at 6.35 p.m. EST (11.35 p.m. GMT) and closing at 8.06 p.m. EST (1.06 a.m. GMT tomorrow), from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. Four previous attempts at launching have had to be scrubbed due to issues with the rocket and the weather.

The launch is attempting to take the SES-9 communications satellite into geostationary orbit, and SpaceX will also be attempting to land the first stage of the rocket on a floating barge again following a few failures. Owing to the high altitude required for the launch, though, the company has said the chances of the landing being a success are pretty slim.

So, will it be fifth time’s a charm? To find out you can tune in live on SpaceX’s webcast, and we’ll also post a live stream below before the launch for you to watch.

Tags